Foodie Friday Tiramisu Dip’n Doughnut…

It’s Foodie Friday, ya’ll. It also happens to be the Friday before Father’s Day. My husband loves tiramisu. I do, too! I wanted to try my hand at a treat that would be a close second to his beloved Italian Dessert. However, traditional tiramisu is not exactly friendly to the waistline; and one of the main needed ingredients to make tiramisu makes it a hard recipe to convert to low carb – lady fingers! Though, I am going to keep trying. Stay tuned!

However today, I have a recipe for a tiramisu inspired doughnut with a dip. It’s not quite the same. But, I think it is a great low carb treat.

I altered several recipes to come up with this creation.

*** Note: I used 2 doughnut pans that yield 8 doughnuts per pan (not exactly the norm as far as doughnut pans go). The dough yielded 15 doughnuts. As a result, I upped the serving size to 3 doughnuts ***

IMG_7195

Tiramisu Dip’n Doughnut

Yields 5 Servings

Doughnut Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup Coconut Flour
  • 1/4 Cup Erythritol (I used Swerve)
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/4 tsp Liquid Stevia (I used Vanilla Liquid Stevia)
  • 4 Large Eggs
  • 1/4 Cup Grapeseed Oil (or melted Coconut Oil)
  • 2 Tbsp Rum
  • 6 Tbsp Strong Brewed Coffee or Espresso
  • High Heat Oil for frying (Cocount, Grapeseed – I used Grapeseed)

Dip Ingredients:

  • 4 oz Cream Cheese (Room Temperature)
  • 1/4 Cup Sour Cream (Room Temperature)
  • 1/4 Cup Heavy Whipping Cream (Room Temperature)
  • 1 Large Egg Yolk (optional) – Room Temperature
  • 1/4 Cup Powdered Erythritol (I used Swerve Confectioner’s or grind Erythritol in a coffee bean grinder)
  • 1/4 tsp Vanilla Liquid Stevia or Regular
  • 1/4 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/4 tsp Orange Extract

Doughnut Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees
  2. Combine all dry ingredients into a medium sized mixing bowl and whisk to combine & work out lumps (Coconut flour is very lumpy – especially when stored in the freezer. I use a fine mesh sieve and pour my flour into it over the bowl and work the flour through. It saves a lot of time trying to de-lump the flour)
  3. For the strange coffee portion, I took a glass measuring cup added the rum, then added water until it reached 1/2 cup. I then microwaved it for 1 minute and added 1 Tbsp of instant decaf coffee. You need your rum/coffee combo to equal 1/2 cup
  4. Add all liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly
  5. Add batter to your doughnut pan(s) – (I found piping them in easier and less messy)
  6. Bake for 16-20 minutes until firm and/or toothpick inserted removes clean
  7. Remove from oven and let cool for 5-7 minutes, then remove doughnuts from pan and let cool completely on wire rack
  8. Add enough oil to about 1/2 inch in a frying pan (I used a cast iron skillet)
  9. Heat oil over medium heat until a drop of water pops
  10. Add a few doughnuts at a time (my skillet allowed for 6), frying for 1-2 minutes per side
  11. Remove and let dry on papertowl
  12. Repeat until all doughnuts are fried

Dip Directions:

  1. If adding an egg or worried about using raw egg, I had farm fresh eggs on hand and felt safe using it raw because of knowing the source.
  2. Add all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and whip/whisk on high until smooth and creamy
  3. Portion out or put in storage container and place in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes to set up
  4. Sprinkle with a little cocoa powder (optional) and serve with your doughnuts

Per Serving

(I wasn’t sure how to count for the fat when frying the doughnuts; so, I added 3 Tbs of Grapeseed Oil to the macros)

~  Calories: 438  ~  Fat: 39.31g  ~  Carbohydrate: 7.83g  ~  Fiber: 4g  ~  Net Carb: 3.83g  ~  Protein: 8.97g

I hope you enjoy the recipe. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

