Foodie Friday Keto Cereal…

I have been quite silent (in wordpress world) this week. It was the first week of summer break here in Georgia. I have, literally, only had random 10 minutes of peace here & there. Needless to say, sitting down and typing away on my blog was nearly impossible.

My older daughter has been a cereal eating machine since school let out last Thursday afternoon. If I allowed it, she would eat cereal morning, noon, and night. It has taken hold of me, though. Every time I pour her a bowl, I envy how fast she is able to sit down and just eat. So…. off to the internet I took to discover recipes to satisfy my want for my own bowl of cereal.

The great thing about having a well-stocked, low carb, baking cupboard is that – you usually have everything you need in order to get baking. I made three different types of cereal for myself to choose from: Chocolate Peanut Butter, Birthday Cake, and Tutti Fruity! My local grocery store had almond milk on sale – so double bonus! I think these would make great Keto Cookies, as well, if cereal doesn’t float your boat or bowl (buh bum bum – pow!).

I modified Maria Emmerich’s original recipe to suit my tastes.

Birthday Cake Keto Cereal

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Vanilla Whey or Egg White Protein Powder (Sub Chocolate Protein Powder for Chocolate PB or Strawberry Protein Powder for Tutti Fruity)
  • 1 Cup Almond Flour (Sub Peanut Flour for Chocolate PB)
  • 2/3 Cup Erythritol
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Liquid Stevia (Sub any Berry Flavor Liquid Stevia for Tutti Fruity)
  • 1/2 Cup plus 1 Tbs Melted Coconut Oil (or Butter – if using butter, cereal will need to be stored in the refrigerator)
  • 1 – 2 Tbs Water
  • 1/2 tsp Almond Extract (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp Cake Batter Flavoring (optional-my preferred brand of protein powders now offers a cake batter flavor- I will be checking it out soon!)
  • 1 1/2 tsp Sprinkles (optional)
  • Tutti Fruity (add 1 tsp any Berry/Fruit extract)
  • Chocolate PB (add 2 Tbs Cocoa Powder)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees
  2. Prepare rimmed baking pan with parchment paper – cover to include the rim
  3. In a mixing bowl add all Dry Ingredients
  4. Whisk out lumps and mix all dry ingredients together
  5. Add Liquid Stevia and Extracts/Flavorings
  6. Whisk to incorporate
  7. Add melted coconut oil or butter
  8. Mix completely with spatula or spoon
  9. Add water until everything is mixed and crumbly
  10. Pour out onto your prepared baking pan
  11. Wet hands with water and pat down the dough evenly, taking care to not thin out the edges too much as they brown the fastest
  12. Place in the oven on the middle rack and bake anywhere from 12-20 minutes (until golden brown and/or until the middle gives slightly to the touch)
  13. Once done, take out of the oven and let cool for 5 – 10 minutes
  14. While still warm and not fully crisped, take a pizza cutter or knife and score into little squares or into 8 even servings
  15. Let sit out until completely cooled and crisped (can sit out overnight if coconut oil was used)
  16. Divide into 8 servings (I used food storage bags)
  17. Enjoy with Unsweetened Almond, Coconut Milk (carton), or any blend for a low carb cereal fix

Makes 8 Servings

Birthday Cake Cereal

Calories: 266  ~  Fat: 23.5g  ~  Total Carbohydrate: 5.75g  ~  Fiber: 2.8g  ~  Net Carb: 2.95g  ~ Protein: 9g

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cereal

Calories: 223  ~  Total Fat: 18.39g  ~  Total Carbohydrate: 5.34g  ~  Fiber: 2.9g  ~

~  Net Carb: 3.44g  ~  Protein: 8.78g  ~

Tutti Fruity Cereal

Calories: 266  ~  Total Fat: 23.5g  ~ Total Carbohydrate: 5.75g  ~  Fiber: 2.8g  ~

~  Net Carb: 2.95g  ~  Protein: 9g  ~

So, there you have it! Now you can have cereal, too! (or a Keto Cookie on the go!)

I plan on going to the International Farmers Market over the weekend and have baking/cooking in mind. Assuming all goes as planned, I should have several recipes to post next week.

Until then…

Leave a Reply

