Anytime Egg Tacos – Egg Fast Friendly…

I am on Day Four of my Egg Fast and still going strong; admittedly, I have yet to lose a single pound! Gads! How disappointing. I feel great, though. I am having pretty darn good workouts at the gym and could keep going if time would allow. I am not yet sick of eggs and feel I could continue this throughout the weekend – I might just do it to see if I have any break-throughs. I have yet to feel full. Which I am seeing as a real problem. I have to make myself not eat. This would be happening regardless of the Fast. I am still wondering if my neverending cycle is playing a role. I did some internet research about Perimenopause and difficulty with losing weight on a ketogenic diet. It’s pretty common – that’s me – pretty common. I will be curious to see if there have been any changes in my girth come Monday. But, enough of that.

I have been living off of scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, and the Cloud Bread Cheese Danishes from Low Carb Yum that I last posted. I have made 3 batches. My younger daughter has been enjoying them, as well. She calls them Cow Bread. I think her interest stems from her “helping” me make them. That coupled with the fact that they have a texture similar to marshmallows meeting Wonder Bread. It’s a weird texture but you get over it. It gives me an idea for making something kid friendly (aka Kid Trickery). Maybe over the next week.

As you can imaging, egg recipes tend to be soft. You are eating a LOT of eggs and the texture gets B-O-R-I-N-G. Thank goodness cheese is allowed. Which had me making these taco shells.

Anytime Egg Tacos

Anytime Egg Tacos

Serves Two

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp Mayonnaise
  • 1 Tsp Salsa (I used Pace Restaurant Style)
  • 1 Tsp Cider Vinegar (or Distilled White Vinegar, if preferred)
  • Optional Pinches of: Chili Powder, Ground Cumin, & Cayenne Pepper
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 3 Large Eggs
  • 1 Tbsp Butter
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Cilantro or Chives for garnish (optional)
  • 2 oz. Cheddar Cheese divided in 2 – 1 oz. portions (I used Extra Sharp White & added a sprinkle of Cayenne Pepper)
  • Round, long-handled, kitchen utensil (wooden spoon or whisk – what have you)

Directions for Sauce (or Sals):

  1. In a small bowl, combine Mayonnaise, Salsa, Vinegar, and Optional Spices
  2. Mix well
  3. Add Salt & Pepper, if you feel it needs it
  4. Set aside

Directions for Taco Shells:

  1. Preheat your pan on Medium Heat for a couple of minutes
  2. Place your round, long-handled kitchen utensil so it sits horizontally across a bowl
  3. Place 1 oz. of Cheddar Cheese in your pan
  4. Heat cheese until it hardens just enough that when you lift it, there are no strings (I run my silicone spatula contiually around the edges to keep them from sticking and to test the stringiness of the cheese) This usually takes from 2 to 4 minutes
  5. Once you can lift the cheese solidly without strands forming, flip it over (I find tongs work best for this)
  6. Flatten it out, if it curls on itself
  7. Once the other bottom side browns a little, remove from heat and hang the cheese over your kitchen utensil handle in order to dry, crisp up, and form a taco shell
  8. It only takes a minute for it to dry and cool, remove & place onto a paper towel
  9. Lower the heat to Medium Low and Repeat this process for the other taco shell

Directions for Eggs

  1. Using the same pan, add 1 Tbs butter and melt (optional – pour off oil left over from frying the cheese or leave in the pan)
  2. Add your 3 eggs and cook however you desire (I pan scrambled)
  3. Add Salt & Pepper, if desired
  4. Remove from heat and fill into the taco shells
  5. Pour your Sals onto the eggs
  6. Add Garnish if you desire (I ran out of freeze dried cilantro – so, I added a couple of pinches of freeze dried chives)
  7. Eat and Enjoy

2 Servings ~ 368 Calories ~ 33.25g Fat ~ 1g Total Carbohydrate ~ 17.5g Protein ~

So, that is my Eggcellent recipe for today. I might have a hand at making something different later. If I do, I will be sure to post it.

Until then…

Leave a Reply

