Eggs Bernadette for Foodie Friday…

Do you love Eggs Benedict? I certainly do. Which is ironic. Because, I typically do not like runny eggs – especially the whites. Eggs Benedict is my only exception. I do not typically seek out English Muffins, either. I really think it must be the Hollandaise Sauce. It gives it all that special touch of decadence.

I was looking for something that had a little more protein after weight training. I felt the baking bug tickling at me and thought about what I could make that would hit the spot. I had just purchased Trader Joe’s Hollandaise Sauce and wanted to use it. I have tried to make Hollandaise the tradidtional way and have broken the sauce every single time. I did not really care all that much, but I knew I would be photographing my finished product upon this occasion. Not to mention, I was hungry and already putting off inhaling protein in any form once I arrived home. (Though, I found a recipe for a blender Hollandaise that got good reviews. I have added the link to it within my recipe) TJ’s Hollandaise is too easy to pass up in my case. You just microwave it for a few seconds to perfection.

Since I do not miss English Muffins, I was not looking to make a low carb version of them. I do not have the ability to make waffles which would have made an appropriate substitution for the english muffin to hold all the ooey gooey goodness going on. I have made protein muffins before and thought they might make a good base. A little sweet but not too much. Then it hit me – pour them into ham cups in the muffin tin! There are my Canadian Bacon and English Muffin replacements – all in one! So, I started pulling everything out to get to cookin’. My younger daughter, seeing all the hubbub in the kitchen, wanted to “help”. So, it took twice as long to make. She also kept stealing the ham out of my muffin tin. After the third time, I finally wised up, moved the tin away and gave her her own muffin tin with ham to put in, take out, and eat.

As I mentioned earlier, I do not like runny eggs. Prior to making this recipe, I had never poached an egg in my life! I am certainly no pro after this but far less apprehensive. I was so afraid of breaking the yolk and not being able to get a decent picture. I only had three eggs to work with but luck was on my side. Thank goodness.

I happen to like my little creation. They are quite filling but do not feel too heavy. I like the sweetness the vanilla whey adds. The muffins keep well in the refrigerator for a couple of days. You could very well reheat one in the microwave and top with a tablespoon of butter on the go or if you need to eat something STAT. So let me introduce you to Eggs Benedict’s younger sister ~ Eggs Bernadette. She is a little softer, a little fluffier, packed with extra Protein Punch and naturally lower in carbs.

Eggs Bernadette

~  Eggs Bernadette  ~

Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup Low Carb Vanilla Whey Protein Powder (I used CarbThin Zero Carb Whey Protein Shake Mix)
  • 1 Cup Almond Flour
  • 1 Tbs Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1 Cup plus 1 Tbs Coconut Milk (unsweetened) or  Unsweetened Almond Milk (I used So Delicious CoconutMilk Beverage)
  • 2 Eggs
  • Trader Joe’s Hollandaise Sauce (or make your own)
  • Ham Slices (I used Daily Chef Smoked Ham – at Sam’s Club. You can use Canadian Bacon or Proscuitto. Just make sure they will fit properly in the muffin tin. I always seem to have a problem with the Canadian Bacon popping out and not holding my batter)
  • 12 Eggs

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • In 2 separate bowls, place all dry ingredients in one bowl & whisk to mix and break up lumps and place all liquid (Coconut Milk & 2 Eggs) in the other bowl and whisk
  • Slowly add liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix to combine – set aside
  • Grease or use a non-stick spray (I use spray coconut oil) a 12 count muffin tin
  • Place ham in to form cups (I used 1 slice of ham per cup – the brand I used was thick & large enough)
  • Using your tablespoon, place 3 tablespoons of batter into each cup
  • Place in the oven and bake for 20 minutes (until just spongy)
  • Remove from oven to cool
  • If making your own Hollandaise, prepare it now
  • In a large and rather deep frying pan bring water to a simmer. You will see small bubbles form at the bottom and gradually make their way to the top. This is how you want the water to be. Adjust heat, if necessary . Do not let it boil. Add 3 – 4 eggs at a time to poach – place them gently in the simmering water with shell almost touching surface. Once the egg whites have become opaque on top of the yolk, remove with a slotted spoon and place on a linen or paper towel to absorb the water. Then move each egg on to their own muffin. Continue until you have your desired servings
  • If using TJ’s Hollandaise, microwave to their directions. I actuallly measure (weigh) out each serving and nuke each serving for 18 seconds
  • Top, serve, and enjoy

Makes 6 servings

~  Calories 538  ~  Fat 41.08g  ~  Total Carbohydrate 5.2g  ~ Fiber 2.2g  ~ Net Carb 3g  ~             ~  Protein 38.67g  ~

Just the ham cup muffin (2 muffins) ~ Calories 231  ~  Fat 13.08g  ~  Total Carbohydrate 5g ~  ~  Fiber 2.2g  ~ Net Carb 2.8g  ~ Protein 26g  ~

Based upon my earlier post, I thought having a baking recipe would be appropriate. I hope you enjoy it.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

