Bakin’ bacon…

Today is Mother’s Day and I was treated to a Mother’s Day Brunch Buffet. I know that I did not intentionally blow my diet – only time (tomorrow) will tell. Regardless, I enjoyed my time with my husband and kiddos. I’ll be back on tomorrow to update my stats since it will be time for my Weekly Weigh & Measure.

This is a quick post on bacon. If you don’t eat bacon, I’m sorry. Not because I am going on about bacon. Simply because, you is missin’ out. I love bacon. In fact, everyone in our home lurvs bacon. My favorite way to cook bacon is in the oven. If you have never baked bacon, you should try it. It is not the fastest way to cook bacon. However, I think it is worth the extra few minutes it takes. This method works best on thicker cuts of bacon. The regular, thin slices can work. But, you will need to really watch them as they can turn into bacon scented, shriveled, briquette sticks in a minute. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Bakin Bacon

Oven Baked Bacon or Bakin’ Bacon

~ Ingredients ~

  • 1 pack of Thick Sliced Bacon (preferred)
  • Parchment Paper
  • 1 – 2 Rimmed Pans (depending upon amount of bacon & size of pans)

~ Directions ~

  1. DO NOT PRE-HEAT OVEN! I cannot stress this enough. You want to place your bacon in a cold oven and let the bacon heat up and cook slowly
  2. Line pan(s) with parchment paper (I will let it go over the rim to try to minimize clean up)
  3. Place bacon in pan(s) on the parchment paper ~ Try not to let them touch
  4. Place in oven and set oven to 350 degrees (If you are using thick slices, you can go up to 375 – just keep a steady eye on them. I have done it, but charred more bacon than have had successes)
  5. Set a timer for 20 minutes (thick sliced bacon will not be done, if baking thin slices set timer at 15 minutes)
  6. Once the first timer goes off (if using 2 pans), I switch the pans on the racks – upper to lower & lower to upper. This also helps me to see how much they have cooked
  7. From there, set your timer at 8 -10 minute increments depending upon how much they have cooked, checking on the bacon after each timer goes off
  8. When your bacon is nearing the point of perfection, check anywhere from every 3-5 minutes
  9. Once they are done, let them cool for a few minutes, then transfer on to a plate lined with paper towels
  10. Voila! It’s bacon, baby!

It is not an exact science as brands vary, slices vary, ovens vary, and preference for bacon doneness varies. Be patient. It’s pretty easy. You don’t have splattering grease going all over your kitchen, your arms, or even in your microwave. It just requires patience. If you are starving, then just pop the doggone things in the microwave and be done with it! I, however, like to patiently wait for my perfect, crispy, fat poppin’ bite’o’bacon.

I hope you enjoy it.

Until tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

