Before buckling down…

I made these bad boys ~IMG_6894

A big thank you to Melissa Sevigny at I Breathe I’m Hungry for these  Low Carb Caramel Nut Brownies. Mine certainly do not look as pretty as hers. Also, I had to tweak the recipe due to what I had on-hand. Her recipe calls for walnuts and bourbon to make the caramel topping. I had just purchased a bag of roasted, chopped pecans from Trader Joe’s; so, that is what I used. There are no bourbon drinkers in our household. Rum was the liquor of choice for the caramel sauce. I also added a couple of teaspoons of instant coffee to round out the chocolate flavor. It was quite tasty. I added a little too much rum into the caramel sauce while trying to pour it into my teaspoon. My caramel ended up a little too runny and rummy. Really, is there any such thing as something being too rummy if you are a rum lover? But, I digress…

They were the perfect last hoorah prior to these upcoming 2 weeks starting Monday. See? You don’t have to feel deprived with a big lifestyle change. “But, why are they your last hoorah for 2 weeks if they are low carb?” you ask. Because, I will be jumping in both feet first into Induction . I need to fully commit if I want to achieve my goals.

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I have been carbing down but not counting my carbs. I know that they are still too high as I am pretty  much hungry all the time and craving sweets. That tells me that I need to get back into ketosis in order to hit satiety. In other words, I need to retrieve my stop button.

*** As a side note, I included a link to a thread of a low carber testing to his satiety level. I’m certainly not suggesting to do what this particular person did. I found the test rather interesting and enjoyed reading the threads to see other people’s input. ***

Back to the above bad boys. They are made with almond and coconut flours. Nuts are not recommend during Induction. They can sometimes stall weight loss. You have to get back to the basics of eating during the first two weeks – fats, proteins, and non-starchy (generally green & leafy) vegetables. Not to mention, you will need to be a water guzzling machine. It’s pretty simple as far as eating – fats (to keep you satisfied & make food tasty), protein (for your muscles – for maintaining muscle mass), and green, leafy vegetables (for added macronutrients and to keep the pipes clean). If you are used to consuming a fair amount of convenience foods, sweets, juices, and sodas, it will be a pretty big adjustment. Once you get past Induction and start to slowly add in certain foods, it gets much easier.

In order to help set yourself up (and myself included) for success, I will be dedicating my next few blogs to supplements, food staples, tools, and quick & easy recipes to keep you going and how to keep it simple.

Until tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

